Lot 143 Ravenel Spring Auction 2020 Taipei

Ravenel Spring Auction 2020 Taipei

Homeland Return

WANG Pan-youn (Taiwanese, 1912 - 2017)

Oil on canvas

60.5 x 72.5 cm

Estimate

TWD 1,400,000-2,400,000

HKD 360,000-617,000

USD 46,500-79,700

CNY 330,000-566,000

Sold Price

TWD 1,560,000

HKD 409,449

USD 52,774

CNY 369,668


Signature

Signed lower left Wang.P.Y

PROVENANCE:
Pretty Gallery, Taipei
Former collection of Dr. and Mrs. Li
Acquired by the present owner from the above

+ OVERVIEW

THROUGH HIS ART WITNESS THE AESTHETICS OF SOLITARY, THE POET ON CANVAS, WANG PAN-YOUN

His life was arduous. He graduated from Shanghai Fine Arts Schoolin 1936, and studied under masters such as Liu Hai-su, Pan Yuliang and Pan Tian-shou etc. In 1949, he followed the National Government's step to come to Taiwan and first cettled down in Feng Shan. He was recommended by his cousin to teach at Lo Tung High School and subsequently lived in Yilan in 1952. He has dedicated his whole life to the education of Lan Yang Art and kept on creating over sixty years. In 2001, Wang Pan-youn won the 5th National Award for Arts. He was nearly at ninety years of age. As once said regarding his well deserved award" An artist who has self-reflection… In today such a loud and noisy era, he always closely observes himself, throughout his delicate and passionate emotions to interpret the theme concisely, and present an unique and refined style under the specific environment of Taiwan.

"A painter must have his own system and style, that is solitude." — Wang Pan-youn

Same as the traditional Chinese literati, he possessed of good virtues as noble and virtuous, Wang Pan-youn believes that "painting is depicting the mood of oneself", and his mindset often blends with his favorite poems and delineates a situation mixed with tragedy and joy. The art critic Hsieh Li-fa once described that the realm of Wang Pan-youn is like a poem, instead of using the language of poetry to paint, but more is "painting in the language of his hometown". Themes such as boundless world, sun, man in red, deformation of dogs and horses, thatched houses and lonely sailboat frequently appear in the works of Wang Pan-youn, clearly beneath them are exceptional emotions and memories. According to his words, he often paints world that depicts the brimless grassland of his childhood hometown, bue to the lost of his father when he was young, he always either played alone in the grassland or with his dogs at home. Because of the power struggling within his extended family, this had eventually led to the unique solitariness found in his creation and reached such a seclusion manner.

His thinking transcends times, while his unique use of color and space to convey memories as a faintly discernible mysterious metaphor, the cultural connotation is deeply embedded in Eastern cultures. The themes of his paintings included the creative artistic concepts of people, nudes, nature and animals. Whichever the subject it is, from people, birds, dogs, cows, goats or eagles, they are all incarnations of himself, constituting an autobiographical monologue. Female nudes or dancers in his work signal memories of the loves of his youth, somewhat nostalgic of the place where he grew up. Thus, the artist mingled love and nostalgia together through the layered colors of dreams and feelings. A boat, the sun or the moon, on the other hand, were poignant symbols expressing his feelings, an artistic concept similar to poetry used to dilute the pain of his life and homesickness. His landscape paintings are not expressive melodies of beauty. At times, they have a distinct avant garde style, comprised only of a single color in an abstract composition conveying a modern feeling.

A WANDERING SOUL THAT STANDS ON HIS OWN

His narrative lonely yet poetic, which symbolic meaning are abundantly reflected in his paintings. Though the colour composition is simple but full of modernity, completely transcends in time and encompassed of richness in the humanity that is only seen in the Oriental East. Due to the hardship throughout his life and lack of materials, oil paint was definitely more precious to him at that time. During his creative career, his oil paintings were relatively scarce, mainly focuses on ink and watercolor. "Homeland Return" is one of his rare oil paintings. From other country to homeland where is his motherland. The life of Wang Pan-youn was sadly drifted because of war, the boat lingered in his heart with fond memories between his young self sailing with Ji Zhu-jun in Suzhou and Hangzhou, the depiction of boat is also a metaphor of homesick to his native land, which he is eternally nostalgia for. The lonesome sailboat depicted in "Magnificent Landscape" as if himself finally saw through the vulnerability in life, mass area of blue and black applied in the canvas created the ethereal spirit of the universe. Daughter Wang Duo-tsu once said that most of his father's paintings were not for sale, many people wanted to buy them but he insisted on not selling them. Yet in 2014, he generously reacted the call from the non profit organisation Yilan Love to donate "Breath of Autumn" which he has kept for 30 years without hesitation. Both the "Thatched Cottage" and "Hometown" have Wang Pan-youn's timeless yellow and green tones, which represent heaven and earth respectively, “Thatche Cottage” was selected by artist as the cover of his business card. With his artistic language so autobiographical, he fearlessly self examined and even passionately touches the heart of viewers. One of works in this auction "Return" Moreover the feeling of deficiency symbolized by Ji Zhu-jun have therefore become the homeland that he has kept searching for all of his life.

The life of Wang Pan-youn bumpy yet rich is epitomized in hisworks, viewers can clearly feel from his delicate and mellow paintings. The symbolic atmosphere of loneliness depicted in his paintings are all of his emotions expressed, his bitter aesthetics is sort of like poetry that can downplay the nostalgia and distress in life. His creation is profound, restrained but full of emotion, which entirely reflects in his most extraordinary artistic life that was cultivated through historical turbulence and cultural exchange.”I have always felt that there must be an essence or vitality to the substance of a painting. For example, the splash of the brush stroke of a splashed color painting allows the picture to have a dynamic element that renders the picture grand and magnificent and truly interesting, and when people look at it, it’s like seeing
a hero with all the glory.” Wang Pan-youn was always passionate about his paintings. Look back at the artist’s life, both of his personal character and the character of his paintings are admirable and deserved being known as the master of the generation.
Related Info

Modern & Contemporary Asian Art

Ravenel Spring Auction 2020 Taipei

Sunday, July 19, 2020, 12:00am

编号 143 罗芙奥台北2020春季拍卖会

罗芙奥台北2020春季拍卖会

问君何日归故里

王攀元 (台湾, 1912 - 2017)

油彩 画布

60.5 x 72.5 cm

预估价格

TWD 1,400,000-2,400,000

HKD 360,000-617,000

USD 46,500-79,700

CNY 330,000-566,000

成交价格

TWD 1,560,000

HKD 409,449

USD 52,774

CNY 369,668


签名备注

签名左下:Wang.P.Y

来源:
绮丽画廊,台北
李界元医师伉俪旧藏
现有藏家购自上述来源

+ 概述

用艺术见证大时代下的孤寂美学,画布上的诗人,邂逅王攀元
他的一生艰苦卓绝,1936年毕业于上海美专,师承刘海粟、潘玉良、潘天寿等人。1949年随着国民政府来台先落脚凤山,1952年受堂弟推荐至罗东中学教书并潜居宜兰,他的一生奉献于兰阳艺术教育并持续创作超过一甲子。 2001年获第五届国家文艺奖美术类得奖人,当时王攀元以近九旬高龄获奖,得奖理由实至名归所述:“一位内省的艺术家......在当今众声喧哗的时代,始终自我观照,以细腻深邃的情感诠释简洁的主题,在台湾特定
的时空下,呈现出独特精炼的风格。”

“一个画家必需要有自己的体系与风格,那就是孤独。”— 王攀元

他有着中国文人的清高与倨傲,王攀元认为“作品就是画自己的心境”,而他的心境往往揉合著他最喜欢的诗词,画出悲喜交织的情境。艺术评论家谢里法曾叙述,王攀元的境界好比一首诗,莫非以诗的语言来作画,但更多得是“以家乡的语言作画”。无边天地、太阳、红衣人、狗与马的变形、茅草屋与孤帆等主题最常出现于王攀元的作品之中,其背后都有特殊的情感与回忆。他经常绘画出大块天地,按王攀元的说法,是描绘自己童年家乡无边的草原,自幼失怙,他经常独自在草地上或与家中的狗儿玩耍,大家族下的争权夺利,使得他的创作如同踽踽独行的孤独文本,风雨飘摇间造就孤高气度。

他的思想超越时代,独到的色彩,虚空感表达回忆、若有似无的神秘隐喻,深具东方的人文内涵。自传式的独白,而画中的裸女或舞者,则是年轻时的爱情回忆,也是一种思乡的情感,他把爱情与乡愁搅在一起,堆叠出梦境与情感的色彩。船、太阳或月亮,都是凄美的象征符号,抒发情感,像诗一般的意境去淡化生活与思乡之苦。他的风景图画不是属于唯美的咏叹调,有时候非常有前卫风格,近乎单色画的写景作品,抽象构图具现代感。越晚期的画作越单纯,达到一种至高无上的绝对感。

独树一格的飘泊灵魂
他孤寂的诗叙及象征意涵丰富地体现于他的画作之中,色彩单纯却充满现代感的构图方式,超越了时代并深富东方人文内涵。因一生困苦且物资缺乏,油画颜料对当时的他来说较为珍贵,在他的创作生涯中油画产量较为稀少,主要多寄情于水墨及水彩。《问君何日归故里》亦为其中难得的油彩画作。从他乡至故乡,梦土与家园何处寻,王攀元的一生因战乱而漂泊,船在他内心荡漾着年少与季竹君苏杭泛舟的记忆,亦隐喻着载他回乡的思乡心象风景亦是他扁舟孤泊的永恒乡愁。《大山大水》中的孤帆亦如他看尽了红尘众生人生中的归依,大片面积的蓝与黑有着旷达宇宙间的空灵。女儿王多慈曾言,父亲画作大多是非卖品,很多人想买但他执意不卖,2014年时宜兰联合劝募中却不假思索地便将珍藏三十年的《秋意》捐出。《山屋》与《故乡》有着王攀元经典的黄绿色调的天与地,以自传性的艺术语言,直观自身心底,更触动着观者心弦,而《山屋》一作更曾被艺术家选为其名片封面。而其中一件《归》孤人的背影置于画面右下方,有如当年季竹君所象征的那段缺憾,成为他终其一生追寻不得的故乡。

王攀元坎坷丰富的一生,都缩影在他一幅幅作品里,观者可以从那细腻、情思醇厚的绘画中阅读而出。画中孤凄意境的象征符号,皆是王攀元情感的抒发,他的苦涩美学像诗一般地淡化了生命之中的思乡与困顿之苦。他的创作深沉、内敛却情感丰沛,完整地体现了王攀元历经历史动荡、文化流转的不凡艺术人生。“我始终认为,作品中一定要有的内涵的精神活力。譬如,在大泼墨水墨画的笔触去挥洒,让画面具备灵动的要素,使画面气势磅礴,趣味盎然,令人看了,好像百战荣归的英雄。”在绘画里,王攀元一直是热情澎湃的。回顾画家的一生,他的人格与画格令人
钦佩,一代美术大师当之无愧。
相关资讯

亚洲现代与当代艺术

罗芙奥台北2020春季拍卖会

2020/07/19 (日) 上午12:00