Lot 044 Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Sunset

André BRASILIER (French, 1929)

1988

Oil on canvas

65 x 92 cm

Estimate

TWD 2,200,000-3,600,000

HKD 557,000-911,000

USD 71,100-116,400

CNY 509,000-833,000

Sold Price


Signature

Signed lower right André Brasilier
Initialed reserve A.B. and titled Sunset


PROVENANCE:
Acquired directly from the artist by the previous owner
Private collection, France

EXHIBITED:
In search of the Invisible, Galerie Buschlen-Mowatt, Vancouver, Canada, April 7 - May 15, 1988

ILLUSTRATED:
In search of the Invisible, Galerie Buschlen-Mowatt, Vancouver, 1988, color illustrated, p. 24-25
Xavier de Coulanges, André Brasilier: Catalogue Raisonné, 1982-2002 (v. I), Acatos Publishing, Lausanne, 2004, color illustrated, p. 140

+ OVERVIEW

André Brasilier is a famous French contemporary painter, who is best known for his poetic, elegant and colorful semiabstract painting. His unique artistic language combines simplicity with romance, while spans from abstract art to expressionism.

FLOATING LIKE A DREAM: BRASILIER'S ROMANTIC WORLD OF ART

Brasilier is a famous French contemporary painter, who is best known for his poetic, elegant and colorful semi-abstract painting. His unique artistic language combines simplicity with romance, while spans from abstract art to expressionism.

Brasilier was born in Saumur, west France in 1929. His childhood was filled by the beautiful sceneries of castles, estates and the countryside near the river of Loire, which contributed to his dream-like painting language later. Both his parents are painters, so Brasilier has been familiar with fine arts since his childhood. In 1949, he entered Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Paris at the age of 20, and after winning the Prix de Rome later at 23, he went to Villa Medici for further study. Since 1959, he has held many exhibitions at home and abroad, as well as having his personal review fairs, including at Château de Chenonceau, France (1980), Musée Picasso, Antibes, Côte d'Azur (1988), Hermitage Museum, Russia (2005) and the Museum Haus Ludwig, Germany (2007). Aside from painting, Brasilier is also renowned in illustrations, pottery and stage design.

Being fond of the natural beauty since childhood, Brasilier excels at capturing the voices, language and colors of nature. His works are lively records of the incomparable beauty of Mother Nature. With the epic, quiet, harmonic and elegant style, they praise the beauty of our nature. In terms of color choice, aside from his simple, direct approach, he also has a touch of fantasy and mystery. Brasilier prefers to add some pink touches to the blue sky as he considers such a dream-ish shade would express the beautiful moments of life perfectly. Brasilier's works are the endless quest towards beauty, which unveils the pre-existing, natural bliss around us.

Aside from nature, Brasilier's works always feature horses, music and women. When he was young, he used to live in an estate on the side of Loire, and naturally, the horses that galloped in the wilderness became one of his major themes. To Brasilier, horses represents divinity, they are Heaven's great creations that signifies strength, power and beauty. Music further inspires him, as the twirling melodies gave rise to his elegant, dynamic silhouettes as well as the unbound composition. As for women, his wife Chantal has been his muse for his entire life. Since the day he met her at Medici Garden on the side of the Tiber River in Rome, Chantal has become his perfect model of women, and has appeared everywhere in his works.

Brasilier does not pursue realism, he surpasses it. His works is a kind of spiritual adventure that intends to convey intangible emotions with paintings. Between figurative and abstract, Brasilier chose to utilize both, thus creating his unique“semi-abstract” expression, where he uses simplified shapes to replace the actual scene, and portray things in an equally schematic manner. Such a method seems to coincide with the stylized expression of East Asian paintings.

Sunset was completed in 1988. It combines the classic elements of Brasilier's works. With the semi-abstract expression, softened silhouettes and figure, using colors in large areas and the cutting-off composition, the influences of Japanese ukiyo-es can be clearly observed. The mysterious woman in the foreground has pale skin, black hair, wearing red clothes and inclining slightly, with her figure floating above the white sand trail. The horses beloved by the artists can be seen in the midground, where they roam along the greenery, and the trees combined the deep blue and fresh green, with the thin white lines expressing the windy rhymes. The red sunset on the background sinks slowly into the horizon, and while it is about to disappear in the bright pink and grey-blue horizon of fantasy, the peaceful countryside is bathed in the dimmed afterglow.

Considered as one of the very collect-worthy artists worldwide, Brasilier's works have been on the rise in the past years, with more and more of them being sold every year. His works are appreciated by collectors around Europe, America and Asian, and included in the collection of Yung Tu Museum of Art in Tainan, Taiwan and several private museums.


Related Info

Select: Modern & Contemporary Art

Ravenel Autumn Auction 2019

Sunday, December 1, 2019, 12:00am

編號 044 羅芙奧2019秋季拍賣會

羅芙奧2019秋季拍賣會

晚霞

安德烈.布拉吉利 (法國, 1929)

1988年

油彩 畫布

65 x 92 cm

預估價格

TWD 2,200,000-3,600,000

HKD 557,000-911,000

USD 71,100-116,400

CNY 509,000-833,000

成交價格


簽名備註

簽名右下:André Brasilier
簽名題識畫背:A.B. Sunset


來源:
原藏家購自藝術家本人
私人收藏,法國

展覽:
「隱形的探索」,普斯林.莫華特畫廊,溫哥華,加拿大,展期自1988年4月7日至5月15日

圖錄:
《隱形的探索》展覽目錄,普斯林畫廊,溫哥華,1988年,彩色圖版,頁24-25
沙維亞.德.古朗士,《安德烈.布拉吉利作品目錄,1982-2002年,第一冊》,阿卡托斯出版,洛桑,2004年,彩色圖版,頁140

+ 概述

法國知名當代畫家安德烈.布拉吉利,以充滿詩意、高雅而色彩明快的半抽象繪畫享譽國際,獨特的個人風格,揉合簡約和浪漫,貫穿抽象和表現主義。

如夢境般漂浮
布拉吉利浪漫抒情的藝術世界

1929年布拉吉利出生於法國西部的索米爾(Saumur)。城堡、莊園、田野風光等兒時記憶中美好的羅亞爾河畔景致,構築了他日後夢幻的繪畫語彙。雙親皆為畫家,耳濡目染之下,布拉吉利自小受到藝術的薰陶。1949年20歲的他進入巴黎美術學院(Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Paris)就讀,23歲時榮獲羅馬大獎(Prix de Rome),前往羅馬梅蒂奇別墅(即法蘭西學院羅馬分院)深造。自1959年至今,於海內外多次舉辦展覽,並於各地舉行個人回顧展,包括法國雪農梭城堡(1980年)、蔚藍海岸昂蒂布市的畢卡索美術館(1988年)、俄羅斯冬宮(2005年),以及德國豪斯路德維希美術館(2007年)。除了繪畫,布拉吉利在書本插畫、陶藝、舞台設計等領域亦有良好成就。

從小即對大自然之美充滿嚮往,布拉吉利擅於捕捉自然的聲音、言語以及顏色,他的作品生動記錄了大自然無以倫比之美,筆下如詩一般的畫面,寧靜、和諧而優美,是對大自然的禮讚。而用色上,簡單明快之外,更添一股魔幻和神秘。布拉吉利喜愛將天空染上粉色,對他而言,這樣如夢似幻的藍正表現了生命中的美好感動。布拉吉利的畫是對「美」永無止盡的追尋,揭露我們周遭本就存在的自然美好。

除了自然之外,布拉吉利的創作總不離開馬、音樂和女人。年少時與父母住在羅亞爾河畔的莊園別墅,原野間奔馳的群馬自然而然成為他繪畫的重要主題。對布拉吉利而言,馬是神性的象徵,是上天美好的創造,代表力量、活力和美麗。而音樂更激發他創作的靈感,婉轉的旋律催生出優美流動的線條筆觸和自由活潑的構圖。關於女人,妻子香黛兒(Chantal)是他的終其一生的謬思女神,自從在羅馬台伯河畔,梅第奇花園與她相遇的那天起,香黛兒的身影已成為聚集一切美好的女人形象,在他的作品中不斷繚繞,無所不在。

布拉吉利並非一位寫實畫家,而是超越了現實。他的創作是一種靈性追求,試圖以繪畫傳達無形的精神感受。在具象與抽象之間,布拉吉利選擇運用兩者,因而樹立個人獨特的「半抽象」表現手法,以簡化的造型代替實景,將事物概括描繪之。這樣的處理方式似乎和東方繪畫的寫意精神不謀而合。

作品《晚霞》完成於1988年,匯聚了布拉吉利繪畫的經典元素。半抽象表現手法,柔化畫面線條和人物輪廓,大塊用色和裁切式構圖可見日本浮世繪的影響。前景的神祕女子,肌膚白皙,秀髮烏黑,身著紅衣,微微傾身,漂浮於白沙步道之上;中景可見藝術家摯愛的馬群,在青蔥原野間奔馳,成片的樹林融合了深藍和翠綠,白細線勾勒出風起的律動;最後,遠方紅通的斜陽,緩緩而降,逐漸消失在亮粉和灰藍交織成的魔幻蒼穹,柔和光線中,彩霞映照一片寧靜祥和的鄉間大地。

被定義為全球極具收藏價值的藝術家之一,布拉吉利作品近年來在市場上節節攀升,成交量呈上揚趨勢,廣受歐美及亞洲藏家愛戴,作品珍藏於台灣台南永都美術館及多間私人美術館。


相關資訊

薈萃:國際現代與當代藝術

羅芙奧2019秋季拍賣會

2019/12/01 (日) 上午12:00