Lot 128 Ravenel Spring Auction 2020 Taipei

Ravenel Spring Auction 2020 Taipei

Toréro Debout

Bernard BUFFET (French, 1928 - 1999)

1961

Oil on canvas

100 x 81 cm

Estimate

TWD 15,000,000-30,000,000

HKD 3,856,000-7,712,000

USD 497,800-995,700

CNY 3,538,000-7,075,000

Sold Price

TWD 18,000,000

HKD 4,724,409

USD 608,931

CNY 4,265,403


Signature

Signed upper right Bernard Buffet and dated 61; Inscribed on the reverse 25G

EXHIBITED:
Beijing International Art Exposition, Beijing, 1999
The Shanghai Art Fair, Shanghai, 1999
This painting is to be sold with a certificate of authenticity issued by Galerie Maurice Garnier, Paris.

+ OVERVIEW


The Ultimate Style - Bernard Buffet

Born in Paris in 1928, grew up on the coast of Brittany, Bernard Buffet loves biology. Though he encountered difficulties while pursuing academic, along with his delicacy and sensitivity, cannot stop others from discovering his outstanding artistic talent. The 1948 painting “Le Buveur” was exhibited in Galerie Drouant-David, and later became the collection of Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris. In the same year, the artist met his dealers of a lifetime, David and Maurice Garnier, hence signed the agency contract, even awarded with “Prix de la Critique”, from then on got famous almost overnight. In 1955 while Buffet was only 27 years old, he was named as the best out of the top ten post war artists by “Connaissance des Arts”. When his first retrospective exhibition was held in 1958, he was even highly praised by the media as “the successor of French realism painting.” A shy and jerky young man has since then transformed into a talented artist mostly sought after by the limelight.

The paintings of Buffet outlined with black lines have such a strong personal style, always have been able to shock the inner hearts of the viewers. Many artists, including Taiwan predecessor painter Shiy Dejinn, have been deeply influenced by him. Japanese collectors even regarded him as the paramount religion of French art and built an art museum for him. Most of his creations are in a string of series, themes, characters, images and subject matters are repeatedly utilised, and the toreador is one of his most iconic themes.

As an enthusiast in bullfighting, Buffet has a strong passion for this traditional cultural activity originated in Spain. The artist once said, “I regard a toreador as a nobleman, a prisoner amid the struggle, with the dictatorship of the beast.” He appreciates the fatal attraction between the beast and the toreador, a fate destined to end in tragedy among them. The trapped beast was challenged and attacked in turn, but still could not escape from death. The toreador wears gorgeous costume, shining brightly under the sun, yet there is no protection function to resist the sharp puncture of the beast. The long sword seems to be fairly sharp, still it can only react at the crucial moment of life and death in the facing the threat of giant beast. The dance performed by toreador simultaneously consisted of desire and violence, throughout the ritualization of the performance procedures, nevertheless increases the component of dramatic performance to this barbaric act, in the hope of diluting and reducing audience's fear of death.

Ravenel’s Modern and Contemporary Asian Art proudly presented “Toréro Debout” in our upcoming Spring Sale. The painting was made in 1961, dressed in splendid gold-inlaid costumes, wearing an aristocratic black hat, the background filled with cool colors distinctly contrasted with the outfit in sky blue, eventually boosted the spirit of nobility. The face of toreador is deeply and profoundly depicted, in addition to his firm and persistent expression, the silhouette is outlined with dark lines to make his facial expression more penetrating. The composition presents a theatrical sense, which can better focus on the spirituality of the characters expressed by the artist. A strong and powerful signature marked by the artist, which hanged on the upper left hand side of the painting, conveying the message as if the self-portrait of the artist dressing in the traditional toreador costume. In closely response to the period when this painting was created, Buffet has already established his reputation in the art world and therefore his mentality of self-confidence was completely demonstrated in the context of this painting. His works recorded with high prices in the market now generally originate from his peak period of 1950s and 1960s. In the mid of1950s, his theme changed to a much larger scale of creations, this is due to the significant improvement of material conditions in his real life then. The protagonist toreador in this magnificent work “Toréro Debout” is in such a rare golden composition of the whole body ratio, which clearly demonstrates his early training rooted in the High Academy of Fine Arts. This painting contains his classic style and theme, sure is one of highlights in our Spring Sale that definitely cannot be missed.
Related Info

Modern & Contemporary Asian Art

Ravenel Spring Auction 2020 Taipei

Sunday, July 19, 2020, 12:00am

編號 128 羅芙奧台北2020春季拍賣會

羅芙奧台北2020春季拍賣會

鬥牛士

貝爾納.畢費 (法國, 1928 - 1999)

1961

油彩 畫布

100 x 81 cm

預估價格

TWD 15,000,000-30,000,000

HKD 3,856,000-7,712,000

USD 497,800-995,700

CNY 3,538,000-7,075,000

成交價格


簽名備註

簽名右上:Bernard Buffet 61; 題識畫背:25G

展覽:
「北京國際藝術博覽會」,北京,1999
「上海國際藝術博覽會」,上海,1999
附巴黎莫里斯.賈尼耶畫廊開立之原作保證書

+ 概述

極盡的風采 ─ 貝納. 畢費

1928年生於巴黎,成長於布列塔尼海岸,喜愛生物學,貝納. 畢費生性細膩敏感,學業上的困難,無法阻擋旁人發覺他卓越的藝術天賦。1948年畫作《飲酒的人》展出於杜胡安.大衛畫廊並後來輾轉為巴黎市立美術館收藏。同年,藝術家知遇伯樂畫商:大衛與賈尼耶簽下代理合約,更獲得「藝評獎」從此一炮而紅。1955年僅27歲的畢費,被當時的《藝術鑑賞雜誌》選為「戰後十大最傑出藝術家」之首。1958年舉辦第一次回顧展時,更被媒體譽為「法國寫實主義繪畫的接班人」。一位害羞生澀的青年,從此蛻變為鎂光燈追捧的天才藝術家。

畢費以黑色線條勾勒的繪畫,具有強烈的個人風格,向來能撼動人心,不少藝術家包括臺灣的前輩畫家席德進都曾受到他的影響。日本收藏家更尊他為法國藝術的宗教,為他建造美術館。他的創作大多屬系列,並多重複主題、角色、意象與題材,而鬥牛士則為當中最具標誌性主題之一。

作為「鬥牛」的愛好者,畢費對這項源於西班牙的傳統文化活動有著無比的激情。藝術家曾說:「我看待鬥牛士如同貴族,拚搏的囚獸–野獸的主宰」。他欣賞鬥牛與鬥士間的致命吸引,一項兩者間注定以「悲劇」結尾的命運。困獸輪番受到挑撥與攻擊,卻無法逃脫「死亡」。鬥士一身華麗裝束,在陽光下璀璨發亮,卻毫無抵擋野獸尖角穿刺的保護功能。而長劍看似雪亮鋒利,面對龐然巨物的威脅,也只能作用在關鍵性的生死時刻。充滿暴力的慾望之舞,透過儀式化得表演程序,為這野蠻活動增添了戲劇性表演成分,沖淡減緩觀眾對死亡的恐懼。

本季羅芙奧春拍亞洲現代與當代藝術敬獻《鬥牛士》,此作品完成於1961年,身著鑲嵌金的華麗服飾,頭頂貴族黑帽,冷色調的背景與天藍服裝更襯出鑲金之高貴之氣。鬥牛士的面部深邃且表情堅毅並以墨黑線條刻劃稜角使其表情更顯穿透力。構圖呈現劇場感,更能聚焦藝術家表現的人物精神性。強而有力的藝術家簽名,高掛於圖像之左上,有如藝術家自己裝束起鬥士服裝的自畫像,更呼應此時期,畢費已在畫壇已建立起名聲,完整構築自己繪畫脈絡的自信心態。現市場上高價成交之畢費作品,普遍源自其巔峰時期50、60年代,1950年代中期,畢費因為現實生活物質條件的轉好,主題也轉為更加大尺幅的創作。此件作品《鬥牛士》畫面中的主角鬥牛士為少見的全身比例黃金構圖,更顯他早年在高等美術學院的扎根訓練,蘊含畢費經典之畫風以及題材,更為此次春拍屬不容錯過之選。
相關資訊

亞洲現代與當代藝術

羅芙奧台北2020春季拍賣會

2020/07/19 (日) 上午12:00